Committees / Ngaruawahia


Chairperson Brian Stewart

  • This comittee is the "engine room" of the Club and generates the bulk of the Club's income.


  • Our main scource of income is the Food Caravan which we operate at the annual Mystery Creek Fieldays which is the major Club project every year with all Club members involved over the 4 days of the event. The caravan may also attend other events such as Relay for Life, Balloons Over Waikato, Waikato Eqestrian Centre as required.


Committee Members: Fred Hansen, Mack Meijborg, Brian Stewart

Social/ Membership/Publicity

Chairperson Lola McGhee

Committee Members: Lynne Ironside, Lola McGhee

Youth/Health/ Welfare

Chairperson Val Hollands.

Youth Health & Welfare committee deals with all related correspondence & recommends donations where appropriate. Priority is given to local needs.

Annual tasks include:

  • Kevin Cryer Award for Form 7 (yr. 13) students from Ngaruawahia High School.
  • The award was set up in memory of former Club member Kevin Cryer for financial assistance for Tertiary Studies. Students are invited to apply and interviewed during term 4 and the award presented at the Senior School Prizegiving.


  • Promote & help organize the Lions Young Speechmaker Competition. open to students 17 - 21 yrs. at 1st August. Club sponsors student(s) applications prior to 30th June.
  • Promote the Annual Peace Poster Competition to local Primary Schools and organise enties for any that wish to participate.


  • The Club is the provider for Meals on Wheels in Ngaruawahia and organises provision of meals and a roster of drivers for delivery. Fuel costs for drivers is subsidised by a grant from COGS and the club covers the cost of the meal containers etc.


Committee Members: Val Hollands, Alastair Johnston




I have forgotten my password